Origins of Funk - Various Artists [VINYL]

Origins of Funk - Various Artists [VINYL]

Sale price$34.00
Sold out
Ministry of Sound's 'Origins' series is back again, this time with the soulful sounds of funk, from some of the most legendary names in the game. This release explores the origins of the genre from its early beginnings with likes of Curtis Mayfield, The Isley Brothers, Marvin Gaye, Earth, Wind and Fire, Gil Scott-Heron and many more.

Disc 1
1. Move On Up - Curtis Mayfield
2. Cold Sweat - James Brown
3. Shining Star - Earth, Wind & Fire
4. Got to Give It Up (Pt. 1) [single Version] - Marvin Gaye
5. Jungle Boogie - Kool and the Gang
6. Express Yourself - Charles Wright & The Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band
7. Mr. Big Stuff - Jean Knight
8. It's Your Thing (Album Version) - The Isley Brothers
9. Give Up the Funk (Tear the Roof Off the Sucker) - Parliament
10. Pick Up the Pieces - Average White Band
Disc 2
1. Could Heaven Ever Be Like This - Idris Muhammad
2. The Revolution Will Not Be Televised - Gil Scott-Heron
3. Heart's Desire - Don Blackman
4. Running Away - Roy Ayers Ubiquity
5. More Bounce to the Ounce - Zapp
6. If You Want Me to Stay - Sly and the Family Stone
7. Papa Was a Rollin' Stone (Single Version) - The Temptations
8. Tell Me Something Good - Rufus and Chaka Khan
9. Cissy Strut - The Meters
10. Think (About It) - Lyn Collins

Production Info

This product is: out-of-stock

In-stock: 90% of orders are dispatched within 24 hours of purchase. Please see our shipping timetable here.

Out of stock: Enter your email address on the product page and we will notify you once the title is back in stock.

Pre-Order: will be dispatched upon the title release date.

Special Order: will take up to 3 weeks to source and dispatch.

If your order contains multiple types of product (e.g: an 'in-stock' item and a 'pre-order' item), the entire order will be held for dispatch until the Pre-Order release date or the 3 week Special Order window has elapsed, whichever is longer.

Please note: To avoid any unwanted delays, please order separately.

Free shipping

for orders of €/£40 or more.