Monster - R.E.M. [VINYL]

Monster - R.E.M. [VINYL]

Sale price€52.95

This is the last one of these in stock!
Add it to your cart to secure your copy.

Remastered 25th anniversary reissue of R.E.M.'s acclaimed ninth album. Highlights off the album include the distortion-soaked first single, 'What's the Frequency, Kenneth?' which plays off the farce of media and marketing that pervaded Gen X pop-culture, while the catchy 'Star 69' is a detective story, based on the '90s phone service of the same name. The second single, 'Bang and Blame', features Sonic Youth's Thurston Moore, as well as actress Rain Phoenix, whose brother River had recently passed away and was the album's dedicatee. 'Let Me In' is an ode to Nirvana frontman Kurt Cobain, who had also died just months earlier. This expanded edition includes the original album along with a special 2019 remix by producer Scott Litt. Litt, who struggled with the original mix, recalls, 'I had told the band through the years that if there was ever a chance to take another shot at mixing the album, I wanted to do it'. Now, 25 years later, he's had the chance, and the results are striking. On some songs, according to journalist Matthew Perpetua, Litt's work features 'entirely different vocal takes and instrumental parts that were either buried or excised from the original album mix'. Bassist Mike Mills adds, 'I think as he listened to it over the years, he began to hear a different way to realise those songs'.

Disc 1
1. What's the Frequency, Kenneth? - R.E.M.
2. Crush With Eyeliner - R.E.M.
3. King of Comedy - R.E.M.
4. I Don't Sleep, I Dream - R.E.M.
5. Star 69 - R.E.M.
6. Strange Currencies - R.E.M.
7. Tongue - R.E.M.
8. Bang and Blame - R.E.M.
9. I Took Your Name - R.E.M.
10. Let Me In - R.E.M.
11. Circus Envy - R.E.M.
12. You - R.E.M.
Disc 2
1. What's the Frequency, Kenneth? (Remix) (Bonus Track) - R.E.M.
2. Crush With Eyeliner (Remix) (Bonus Track) - R.E.M.
3. King of Comedy (Remix) (Bonus Track) - R.E.M.
4. I Don't Sleep, I Dream (Remix) (Bonus Track) - R.E.M.
5. Star 69 (Remix) (Bonus Track) - R.E.M.
6. Strange Currencies (Remix) (Bonus Track) - R.E.M.
7. Tongue (Remix) (Bonus Track) - R.E.M.
8. Bang and Blame (Remix) (Bonus Track) - R.E.M.
9. I Took Your Name (Remix) (Bonus Track) - R.E.M.
10. Let Me In (Remix) (Bonus Track) - R.E.M.
11. Circus Envy (Remix) (Bonus Track) - R.E.M.
12. You (Remix) (Bonus Track) - R.E.M.

Production Info

This product is: in-stock

In-stock: 90% of orders are dispatched within 24 hours of purchase. Please see our shipping timetable here.

Out of stock: Enter your email address on the product page and we will notify you once the title is back in stock.

Pre-Order: will be dispatched upon the title release date.

Special Order: will take up to 3 weeks to source and dispatch.

If your order contains multiple types of product (e.g: an 'in-stock' item and a 'pre-order' item), the entire order will be held for dispatch until the Pre-Order release date or the 3 week Special Order window has elapsed, whichever is longer.

Please note: To avoid any unwanted delays, please order separately.

Free shipping

for orders of €/£40 or more.