The Black Saint and the Sinner Lady - Charles Mingus [VINYL]

The Black Saint and the Sinner Lady - Charles Mingus [VINYL]

Sale price$56.00
Sold out
Long-considered Charles Mingus' masterpiece, 'The Black Saint And The Sinner Lady' represents high-water marks in both jazz composition and orchestration. An essential work in the history of jazz, this extended work has been performed as a ballet and features original liner notes by Mingus' psychotherapist. It's an intense, totally distinctive mash-up of large-ensemble jazz, folk and Ellingtonian influences featuring Rolf Ericson and Richard Willians (trumpets), Quentin Jackson (trombone), Don Butterfield (tuba), Jerome Richardson (sp baritone and flute), Dick Hafer (tn sax and flute), Charlie Mariano (alto sax), Jaki Byard (piano), Jay Berliner (guitar), and Dannie Richmond (drums). The album was recorded in January 1963 by an eleven-piece band. Mingus has called the album's orchestral style 'ethnic folk-dance music'. Mingus's perfectionism led to extensive use of studio overdubbing techniques. The album features liner notes written by Mingus and his then-psychotherapist, Edmund Pollock. The Black Saint and the Sinner Lady is often characterized by jazz and music critics as one of Mingus's two major masterworks (the other being 'Mingus Ah Um' [1959]) and has frequently ranked highly on lists of the best albums of all time.

Disc 1
1. Solo Dancer (Stop! And Listen, Sinner Jim Whitney!) - Charles Mingus
2. Duet Solo Dancers (Hearts' Beat Shadens in Physical Embraces) - Charles Mingus
3. Group Dancers (Soul Fusion) [freewoman and Oh, This Freedom's Slave Cries] - Charles Mingus
4. Trio and Group Dancers (Stop! Look! And Sing Songs of Revoultions!) - Charles Mingus
5. Single Solos and Group Dance (Saint and Sinner Join in Merriment On Battle Front) - Charles Mingus
6. Group and Solo Dance (Of Love, Pain, and Passioned Revolt, Then Farewell, My Beloved, 'Til It's Freedom Day) - Charles Mingus

Production Info

This product is: out-of-stock

In-stock: 90% of orders are dispatched within 24 hours of purchase. Please see our shipping timetable here.

Out of stock: Enter your email address on the product page and we will notify you once the title is back in stock.

Pre-Order: will be dispatched upon the title release date.

Special Order: will take up to 3 weeks to source and dispatch.

If your order contains multiple types of product (e.g: an 'in-stock' item and a 'pre-order' item), the entire order will be held for dispatch until the Pre-Order release date or the 3 week Special Order window has elapsed, whichever is longer.

Please note: To avoid any unwanted delays, please order separately.

Free shipping

for orders of €/£40 or more.